Opposition will bring no confidence motion against Maharashtra assembly speaker

Maharashtra: Opposition alliance Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) has written a letter to the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly Secretary demanding a no-confidence motion against Assembly Speaker Rahul Narvekar. Shiv Sena’s Uddhav Thackeray faction MLA Sunil Prabhu and Congress MLA Sunil Kedar told on Thursday that so far 30 MLAs have signed the letter written to the Assembly Secretary.

According to the news agency PTI, during the winter session, the opposition has accused the Speaker several times that he is not allowing the opposition members to speak in the House. The session will end on Friday. No immediate comment could be received from the office of State Assembly Secretary Rajendra Bhagwat.

The MVA alliance includes Congress, Uddhav Thackeray’s Shiv Sena and Sharad Pawar’s NCP. MLAs Sunil Kedar, Sunil Prabhu, Suresh Varpudkar and Anil Patil have submitted a letter to Legislative Secretary Rajendra Bhagwat on this matter. Earlier, the MVA leaders had also indicated about this.

Why the resentment?

Earlier also during this winter session, the opposition MLAs were angry that they were not allowed to speak in the House. Not only this, he was not allowed to speak on the most important issue, the Maharashtra-Karnataka border dispute, while the MLAs had also requested to speak. Resentment started increasing among the opposition MLAs regarding this matter.

read this also: ‘What a mess, we haven’t given you anything’, Uddhav Thackeray lashed out when confronted with rebel leader


Leave a Comment