Punjab Bypoll Result LIVE: Who will become Sikandar of Jalandhar? Counting of votes for the Lok Sabha by-election will begin at 8 o’clock.

Jalandhar Bypoll Result 2023: After the by-election on the Jalandhar Lok Sabha seat, the counting of votes will now take place on May 13 (Saturday), for which tight security arrangements have been made. AAP, Congress, Shiromani Akali Dal and BJP witnessed a four-cornered electoral contest in the by-election for the Jalandhar Lok Sabha seat, which is considered a stronghold of the Congress party. Congress MP Santokh Singh Chowdhary had died of a heart attack during the party’s Bharat Jodo Yatra in January, leading to the bypoll to the seat.

The by-election is also being seen as a test of the performance of the one-year-old Bhagwant Mann-led AAP government which has promised free electricity, employment to youth, regularization of contract workers and fight against corruption. Came to power with the promise of actively taking action on many issues like action. The Congress is also trying its best to retain its hold on the Jalandhar seat, which is considered its stronghold. Congress has been winning this seat continuously since 1999.

Officials said that the counting of votes will begin at 8 am and security has been beefed up around the counting centers set up at the office of the Director, Land Records and Sports College Complex, Kapurthala Road. There are 19 candidates in the fray for this seat, including Sushil Rinku of AAP, Karamjit Kaur Chowdhary of Congress, Inder Iqbal Singh Atwal of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Sukhwinder Kumar Sukhi of Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD). Officials said 54.70 per cent polling was recorded in the bypoll held on May 10. The voting percentage in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections was 63.04 per cent.

According to the data, out of 16,21,800 voters in the parliamentary constituency, only 8,87,154 people voted. There are 9 assembly constituencies under Jalandhar Lok Sabha seat. Of this, Shahkot recorded the highest voter turnout of 58.23 per cent. After this Kartarpur recorded 57.97 percent, Jalandhar West 56.49 percent, Nakodar 55.89 percent, Phillaur 55.81 percent, Jalandhar North 54.43 percent, Adampur 54.02 percent, Jalandhar Cantt 50.19 percent and Jalandhar Central 48.94 percent.


Leave a Comment